

NL EN Q

EYE ART & FILM PRIZE WINNER EYE PRIZE 2024 I CHIA-WEI HSU

Taiwanese artist and filmmaker Chia-Wei Hsu is the winner of the 10th Eye Art & Film Prize (2024). In his work,

Winner Eye Prize 2024 | Chia-Wei Hsu

perspectives to his audience."



Chia-Wei Hsu

Chia-Wei Hsu was selected as the winner by an international jury and receives a cash prize of € 30,000 and a (joint) exhibition in Eye Filmmuseum. The Eye Prize is meant to contribute to the production of a new work and supported by Ammodo.

In his work, Hsu intertwines geopolitical developments and local life in Southeast Asia, presently, and in the past. In the border region between Thailand and Burma, together with veterans of the Cold War and local soldiers, he created video installations that delve deep into the history and mythology of the region, as well as into the personal experiences of the soldiers.

"We are delighted that Chia-Wei Hsu is the tenth winner of the Eye Art&Film Prize. The jury is intrigued by his highly original fusion of archaeology and technology. Hsu doesn't confine himself to a single form or visual language; rather, he meticulously searches for a fitting form for each new work. In his intricate video installations, Hsu merges film and contemporary art in suprising ways, always making the underlying (digital) technologies visible. Every new project is like the exploration of a new territory,

diving deep into history and bringing it to life, using interviews, VR, cinematic language and archeometric methods."

Jury chair Bregtje van der Haak, director of Eye Filmmuseum

"The jury appreciates Hsu Chia-Wei's meticulous approach to formulating each project. He doesn't confine himself to a single form or language; rather, he meticulously aligns the form with the content, and thoughtfully considers the presentation of his work within a space, often creating intricate installations to showcase his art. The jury is delighted to award Hsu Chia-Wei the 10th edition of the Eye Art & Film Prize for his contribution to the art of the moving image"

Jury Report Eye Art & Film Prize 2024

About Chia-Wei Hsu

Chia-Wei Hsu was born in 1983 in Taichung, Taiwan. After studying at the School of Plastic Art at National Taiwan University of Arts, Hsu set off for France where he continued his studies at Le Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains in Lille.

Having graduated in 2016, he participated in many group exhibitions, such as at Eye Filmmuseum as part of the exhibition A Tale of Hidden Histories (2019). He has also been invited to take part in the biennials or triennials in Venice, Shanghai, Gwangju, Busan, Sydney, Melbourne, Aichi and, most recently, Chiang Rai. He has had solo exhibitions for the Mori Art Museum in Tokyo, Art Basel Hong Kong, the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven and ISCP in New York.

Hsu won the Annual Grand Prize at the 15th Taishin Arts Award in 2017 and the Tung Chung Art Award in 2018. He worked as a curator for the 2019 Asian Art Biennial.

NL EN Q

Hsu Chia-Wei, A Performance in the Church, 2021. Three-channel video. 16'40", 3'53", 6'40". Courtesy the artist. Provided by Hsu Chia Wei Studio.

NL EN Q

Hsu Chia-Wei, An Actor from Golden Triangle, 2023. VR, two-channel video, mirror installation. 9'53". Courtesy the artist. Provided by Hsu Chia Wei Studio.

Eye Art & Film Prize

The Eye Prize has been awarded annually since 2015 to an artist or filmmaker who is building an exceptional oeuvre and making an outstanding contribution to new developments at the intersection of the visual arts and film. The award consists of a cash prize of € 30,000 intended for the production of new work.

Since 2023, the Eye Prize has been supported by Ammodo. The previous winners are <u>Hito Steyerl</u> (2015), <u>Ben Rivers</u> (2016), <u>Wang Bing</u> (2017), <u>Francis Alÿs</u> (2018), <u>Meriem Bennani</u> (2019), <u>Kahlil Joseph</u> (2020), <u>Karrabing Film Collective</u> (2021), <u>Saodat Ismailova</u> (2022) and <u>Garrett Bradley</u> (2023).

Jury & recommending committee

Chia-Wei Hsu was selected as the winner by an international jury chaired by Bregtje van der Haak (NL). The members of the jury were Nalini Malani (IN, visual artist), Chris Dercon (BE/FR, managing director of Fondation Cartier pour l'art contemporain, Paris), Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese (LS/DE, filmmaker/visual artist) and Hila Peleg

(IL/DE, curator/filmmaker).

NL EN Q

The list of nominees was submitted to the jury by the international advisory board, consisting of Andrea Lissoni (IT/DE), Apichatpong Weerasethakul (TH), Cuauhtémoc Medina (MX), Eva Sangiorgi(IT/AT), Farah Clémentine Dramani-Issifou (BJ/FR), Hoor Al Qasimi (AE), Júlia Rebouças (BR) and Rajendra Roy (US). This committee is chaired by Jaap Guldemond, Director of Exhibitions at Eye Filmmuseum.

VRIENDEN LOTERIJ

Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookie preferences